Submit and vote on feature ideas.

Welcome to the new Parasoft forums! We hope you will enjoy the site and try out some of the new features, like sharing an idea you may have for one of our products or following a category.

Parameterization of SOAtest Tests

Options
LegacyForum
LegacyForum Posts: 1,664 ✭✭
edited December 2016 in SOAtest
Hi,

I am new to SOA Testing as well as the SOATest tool and hence may be asking a basic question but needed immediate help.I have to run a bunch of tests which are xmls being sent over http.The tool that I am using within SOA Test is 'Messaging Service' which would sent and receive pure xmls. Now , is there a process wherein my request xmls can read values for a few of it's tags from a datasource like an excel file and after the response is obtained for each of the tests run , the values in the tags of the response can be stored in another or the same excel file.Also, information on some validation process of the response xmls if existing would be fine.

Awaiting your reply.
Thanks.
Tagged:

Comments

• LegacyForum
    LegacyForum Posts: 1,664 ✭✭
    Options
    Indranil -

You can create an excel data source and parameterize your xml request using that data source (since we do not have a "Messaging Service" tool, I am assuming you are using a "Messaging Client", which requires a schema to define your xml messages).

First, go to the root node of the test suite, right click and select Add New > Data Source... and then click Excel. In the resulting window, input the file path to your excel data source. Note that your Excel file has to be formatted so that each column contains a data set for a single element, which the first row of each column being a label for the data set (i.e. column 1: [Countries, U.S.A., China, Japan, Britain, Germany]). Change the name of your excel data source from "New Datasource" to something else, and hit save. Click "Show Columns" to verify that your data sets in each column are there.