Submit and vote on feature ideas.

Welcome to the new Parasoft forums! We hope you will enjoy the site and try out some of the new features, like sharing an idea you may have for one of our products or following a category.

Log does not include detailed information frome execution

LegacyForum
LegacyForum Posts: 1,664 ✭✭
edited December 2016 in Insure++
hello

i am new to insure++.

i read through the manual and i believe i compiled my source correctly.
but the log files are not showing the informations that i am looking for.

following contents are from the log files:

MEMORY LEAK SUMMARY
===================

53 outstanding memory references for 1260 bytes (1K).

Leaks detected at exit
----------------------
134 bytes 1 chunk allocated
malloc() (interface)
** routines compiled without debug info **
_access() (interface)
** routines compiled without debug info **
*unable to load string table*()
*unable to load string table*()

i was expecting at least a file name and the line numbers. but above messages are displayed instead.

questions:
(1) i have compiled the the project with release option. should i use debug instead?

(2) do i need to have source files on the same machine?

(3) is there some other options that i may need to enble to see more information?

thank you in advance!
Tagged:

Comments

• LegacyForum
    HSong,

(1) i have compiled the the project with release option. should i use debug instead?

Yes, always use the debug configuration when building with Insure++. Incidentally, this is also why you fail to see file and line information and instead see "routines compiled without debug info" messages.

(2) do i need to have source files on the same machine?

You don't need to, but insra won't be able to show you code context if you don't. The "unable to load string table" messages will persist (resulting in less informative error reports) if you run on a machine other than the one on which the executables were built.