Submit and vote on feature ideas.

Welcome to the new Parasoft forums! We hope you will enjoy the site and try out some of the new features, like sharing an idea you may have for one of our products or following a category.

SOATest using old data that works. I must be using machine learning:)

rickstag
rickstag Posts: 16

This is a bit long scenario but would appreciate any info. I am new to soaTest. I am using a data source .txt file to validate postgres datatypes. I wanted to test min max and max+1 of an integer type. I have one record in the dataset. I am using a rest post. I then ran my test using the data source file with 2147483647 and the record was added to the db and a status code of 200 was returned. I then changed the value in my dataset to 2147483648 and ran the test which soaTest in Quality Tasks showed an error. Behind the scenes soaTest changed the integer value to the last know good value of 2147483647 so the test succeeded with a status code of 200 and the database record had this good value as well. I tested this situation serveral times with the same results. I then shutdown soaTest and relaunched it and ran the test with 2147483648 in the dataset and soaTest changed the value to 2147483647 again. soaTest again gave error DataSource: postgres_input_tests (row 1): Value "2147483648" from the "integerNumber" column is not
a valid int. in the Quality Tasks tab but and returned a status code of 200 because it used the last known good value. Any insights would be appreciated.

Comments

• benken_parasoft
    benken_parasoft Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭
    edited March 2019

Since I can't see your tst I'm just making some guesses as to what you are doing and why you are seeing what you are seeing.

Behind the scenes soaTest changed the integer value to the last know good value of 2147483647 so the test succeeded