Constant SoaTest Crashes

goofy78270goofy78270 Posts: 126

Lately, I have been experiencing more than usual crashes from parasoft. Now it appears to happen when I execute a test suite, and after 6 or 7 steps of the 50 or so complete

Parasoft SOAtest & Virtualize: Version 2020.1.0 (9.10.9.20200430) -- Copyright (C) 2020 Parasoft Corporation
#
# A fatal error has been detected by the Java Runtime Environment:
#
#  SIGSEGV (0xb) at pc=0x00007fff680239f0, pid=65615, tid=0x0000000000000307
#
# JRE version: OpenJDK Runtime Environment (Zulu 8.52.0.23-CA-macosx) (8.0_282-b08) (build 1.8.0_282-b08)
# Java VM: OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (25.282-b08 mixed mode bsd-amd64 compressed oops)
# Problematic frame:
# C  [libsystem_platform.dylib+0x9f0]  _platform_memmove$VARIANT$Haswell+0xf0
#
# Failed to write core dump. Core dumps have been disabled. To enable core dumping, try "ulimit -c unlimited" before starting Java again
#
# An error report file with more information is saved as:
# /Users/P2868947/parasoft/test/9.10_for_soatest_virtualize/Parasoft Test.app/Contents/MacOS/hs_err_pid65615.log
#
# If you would like to submit a bug report, please visit:
#   http://www.azulsystems.com/support/
# The crash happened outside the Java Virtual Machine in native code.
# See problematic frame for where to report the bug.
#

Anyone else see this issue or know how it can be remedied?

Let me know if you would like more information from ...

Comments

  • jakubiakjakubiak Posts: 738 admin

    As far as I know this is not a common problem, so I wonder if it is related to something specific that you are doing in your test. I would recommend reaching out to the Parasoft support team so they can help you troubleshoot your particular situation.

  • OmarROmarR Posts: 231 admin
    edited June 24

    Its difficult to access the issue without a log, but you can try increasing the Java heap for SOAtest to handle executing larger suites.

    cd "Parasoft SOAtest & Virtualize.app/Contents/ParasoftSOAtestVirtualize"
    ./soavirt -J-Xms2g -J-Xmx4g
    

    Also see: https://forums.parasoft.com/discussion/2661/how-do-i-change-the-maximum-heap-size-of-the-jvm

    If this doesn't help, I recommend contacting our support team at [email protected] or https://www.parasoft.com/support/.

  • benken_parasoftbenken_parasoft Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭

    Which version of macOS are you using?
    Which version of java are you using?

  • goofy78270goofy78270 Posts: 126

    @OmarR
    currently set as follows:
    /Users/P2868947/parasoft/soatest_virtualize/9.10/Parasoft SOAtest & Virtualize.app/Contents/ParasoftSOAtestVirtualize/soavirt' -J-Xms4096m -J-Xmx4096m

    @benken_parasoft
    macOS - ProductVersion: 10.15.7 - BuildVersion: 19H1217
    java - openjdk version "1.8.0_282"
    OpenJDK Runtime Environment (Zulu 8.52.0.23-CA-macosx) (build 1.8.0_282-b08)
    OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (Zulu 8.52.0.23-CA-macosx) (build 25.282-b08, mixed mode)

    vm_info: OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (25.282-b08) for bsd-amd64 JRE (Zulu 8.52.0.23-CA-macosx) (1.8.0_282-b08), built on Jan 12 2021 07:44:21 by "zulu_re" with gcc 4.2.1 (Based on Apple Inc. build 5658) (LLVM build 2336.11.00)

    I attached the latest log for reference

  • jakubiakjakubiak Posts: 738 admin

    This looks like a bug in Eclipse and/or Java on Mac. I would recommend updating to the latest SOAtest version (currently 2021.1) that has updated versions of both Eclipse and Java, and see if that fixes the problem.

  • benken_parasoftbenken_parasoft Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭

    Yes, you are running into this issue:
    https://bugs.eclipse.org/bugs/show_bug.cgi?id=502711

    You need to use a newer version of Eclipse, like what's now included in the current release of SOAtest Desktop.

Sign In or Register to comment.