Inserting values in DB from the transformed response

sujaldaliasujaldalia Posts: 27

Hi,
I'm using style sheet to transform my response into something I care about from the fields standpoint.
What I want to do is extract the values from the transformed response and insert that in the DB

My transformed xml is looking like this



2017-10-17T13:45:00.61-04:00
9476102124
HIGH_SPEED_DATA
1
choice
WiFi
Business Wi-Fi Standard
2482984091
0
0
0
true
53
1
1


2017-10-17T13:45:00.61-04:00
9476102124
HIGH_SPEED_DATA
1
choice
WiFi
Wifi PRO 2 Access Point - Commercial
2482983445
34.9
99.9
0
false
200
1
59

Any help is greatly appreciated

Thanks,
Sujal

Comments

  • benken_parasoftbenken_parasoft Posts: 395 ✭✭✭

    You need to determine what SQL statement you want to execute then use a DB Tool to execute that statement. You can reference data bank columns in your SQL statement with ${colName} syntax. For example, you may have a SQL statement like INSERT INTO MyTable VALUES (${dateCol}, ${idCol}, ${nameCol})

  • sujaldaliasujaldalia Posts: 27

    Thats exactly what I tried but I was not able to loop through the fields. I'm attaching the transformed xml for an example

  • benken_parasoftbenken_parasoft Posts: 395 ✭✭✭

    Whenever you need to loop over something like that a Writable Data Source is probably want you want. You can configure a Data Bank to write the values across multiple rows of a Writable Data Source. Next, parameterize your DB Tool against the writable data source.

    I don't have an example, offhand. However, I think there are other examples on the forum about how to use a Writable Data Source.

  • sujaldaliasujaldalia Posts: 27

    I have worked with Writable Data Source so I can get the data in. Do you have any exampl on how to parameterize DB Tool against the writable data source by any chance?

  • benken_parasoftbenken_parasoft Posts: 395 ✭✭✭

    Parameterizing tools works exactly the same way, regardless of whether it is a data bank column or a writable data source column or a some other data source column. In the DB Tool, make sure the data source you want to use is selected in the upper-right corner of the tool editor. After that, use ${columnName} syntax to reference the columns from the data source you are using.

    As mentioned, I don't have any examples right now. Generally, I am only able to provide quick answers on the forum.

Sign In or Register to comment.